BOOK ONLINE >>
GIFT VOUCHERS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
T_ 01250 883268
E_ email@ballathiehousehotel.com
Ballathie | COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL & ESTATE
Hotel 1
Hotel 2
Hotel 3
Hotel 4
Hotel 5
Hotel 6
Hotel 7
Hotel 8
Hotel 9
You are here: Home > Hotel > Reviews

Don't just take our word - browse some of the reviews that have recently appeared in Tourism publications, magazines and National Press.

If you are not sure about staying with us then why not read what hotel reviewers have to say about us:

THE HOTEL'S PRESS REVIEWS:

"Scottish service at its absolute, magnificent best.... dinner was an entirely enjoyable and luxurious occasion"

- LISA HENDERSON,  WWWMUSTVISITSCOTLAND.CO.UK,  AUGUST 2014

"A stay at Ballathie is a truly memorable and charming experience"

"Stunning location... sensational views of the Tay"

- tom peterkin,  Scotland on sunday,  AUGUST 2014  

"I challenge any food lovers to spend a weekend at this stunning hotel with having the time of their lives"

- mark smith, daily record,  March 2014

"Very occasionally you find yourself staying somewhere that is simply so good that when the time comes to leave, you do so with genuine regret. Ballathie House is one of those places." 

"The magnificent building and superb setting combine with excellent service from an impressive team and the result is a visit to remember, for all the right reasons."

"Guest rooms … simply ooze character… Public rooms are …. wonderfully welcoming."

"The food is the best it has ever been. Our expectations were very high and were surpassed … Our most recent visit suggests here is a chef intent on delivering the best possible dining experience."

"The hot chocolate fondant with Scottish whisky cherries and black cherry sorbet was declared by one of the team … as the best dessert they had ever eaten!"

- UndiscoveredScotland.co.uk,  May 2013

Lord in up in historic country splendour

"Before dinner, my wife and I took advantage of the hotel's superb location to work up an appetite with a riverside stroll followed by a woodland walk.

We then enjoyed a fine evening meal in the restaurant, which overlooks the River Tay.

The ambience is pure Victorian grandeur, while the food hints at a more modern, French- influenced twist to traditional Scottish fare. With many ingredients sourced from the estate, the attention to detail is key, right down to the three types of butter on offer.

The twist that chef Scott Scorer puts on the dishes is something of a delight, such as my fantastic meaty monkfish main course, which was terrifically matched with tender pork belly, and my wife's starter of quail breast with walnuts and foie gras mousse." 

"Such is the charm of the hotel, it feels almost a grind to leave it behind and venture back out into the busy modern world."

Michael blackley,  daily Mail, may 2013 

"A treat and a joy, a fine old Scottish hotel which clearly intends to get even better"

"There is a warmth here that neither location nor money can buy. There is a lot of repeat custom, a sure sign of a hotel doing things properly"

"One of those hotels which starts to win you over long before you're even inside"

"Management has clearly worked hard to ensure the place feels welcoming to all ... the staff's workrate was one of the most notable elements of our stay. They could not be more attentive, helpful and friendly"

- Michael Grant, The Herald, March 2013

"Ballathie is a real jewel. Try it if you can." 

"Sumptuous meals and drinks. … The magnificent dining room overlooking the banks of the Tay is a simply wonderful setting for fine dining … Ballathie specialises in sourcing good quality local produce and the quail for starters was the tastiest I've ever had."

"The perfect Scottish hotel to escape from the rat race."

"You can't help but relax after arriving at this beautiful, historic setting on the banks of the River Tay…. Our luxury suite had great views of the river and hotel garden."

"The main house is a lovely old building.  Inside, it is more like a stately home than a hotel, with antiques all around."

DAVE LAFFERTY, MANCHESTER EVENING NEWS, MAY 2013

 

"The food was first class.  My wife had steak so tender you could have cut it with a spoon."

Yonnie McInnes, Ayrshire Post, June 2012

"Comfortable, informal, and a friendly place to stay with excellent food… a good base for sightseeing many parts of Scotland

Gareth Rose, The Scotsman, February 2012

"Secluded amid glorious woodland, Ballathie House Hotel offers an escape from the stresses of modern life and a return to traditional Scottish country living from a bygone age… there is a feel of a real return to nature."

"The minute we drove through the gates we shed our city-living worries and started to adapt to the country life… the staff were warm and friendly… It was bliss."

Read full review

Brian Swanson, Daily Express, February 2012

"The location… is picture perfect."

"No one looks down their noses here and the welcome is as warm as the roaring log fire."

"Makes every guest feel important in surroundings you simply won't want to leave.  Our bedroom overlooking the River Tay was magnificent, very Downton Abbey and more of a small apartment than a hotel room… the huge antique wardrobe would have been perfectly at home in a Narnia film set."

"The cheese board… was like everything else about our new favourite hideaway, an absolute delight."

Read full article

Peter Irvine, Scotland the Best, 2012 Edition

"A true country house hotel on the Tay that you fall in love with… probably the best place to stay near Perth… Good dining, great fishing, good for a weekend away."

Vivienne Aitken, Daily Record - November 2011

"Truly an idyllic setting for a romantic weekend break."

"Magnificent, with spectacular grounds. You're guaranteed a real Highland welcome."

"Our Riverside Suite was more of a self-contained luxury flat than a mere hotel bedroom … the lounge itself looks out on beautiful gardens. Open the French doors and you step out to the springy, manicured lawns - the closest you'll get to an outdoor shagpile."

"Scottish salmon, scallops, pork belly, duck and steak were all on the menu and creatively presented with a new take on old classics. The chefs only use the best of ingredients, sourced locally, for their art."

Gordon Bannerman, Perthshire Advertiser, October 2011

"One of the country's most elegant rural retreats … a venue made to measure for business or pleasure…. A timeless and turreted four star gem on the banks of theTay."

"Everything about Ballathie is immaculate, oozing old-school charm from the moment you step into the flagstone hallway."

"Across the pristine tablecloth, my chum was again lost for words as she savoured the Carved Guinea Fowl Supreme accompanied by honey roast carrots, lardons andMadeirasauce."

"The service was flawless. It's no surprise Ballathie has been bombarded with awards."

Andy Swinburne, The Sun, September 2011

"Some country house hotels can be a bit stiff and stuffy. Maintaining the class and elegance expected of a quality hotel whilst at the same time encouraging a comfortable, cosy and lively atmosphere is a neat trick - and Ballathie pulls it off."

"Our room was stunning. A huge bed, period furniture, two armchairs and still enough room to swing a brace of grouse. And the L-shaped bathroom incorporating part of a turret was as big as some city centre hotel rooms I've stayed in."

"Head chef Andrew Wilkie and his team promise a fresh twist on classic Scottish cuisine. And, boy, do they deliver!"

"The perfect venue for a get-away-from-it-all break, a wonderful battery-recharger."

Will Holt, Subscriber review on behalf of Scottish Field, April 2011

"Expert fishermen who have fished the Tay all their lives, resident ghillies George and Garry were a font of knowledge and generous with their spey casting tuition."

"Any misgivings about the rather municipal appearance of the Riverside Suite complex, circa 2000, disappeared once inside."

"A quick scamper over the lawns and we were at the big house for a genuinely first class dinner. A concise but innovative menu coupled with an eclectic wine list and attentive staff made for a great evening."

"Just 15 miles north of Perth, Ballathie House deserves its acclaimed country house hotel reputation. It's certainly no bargain but for keen fisherfolk looking for a bit of a treat it's just the ticket."

 

 

Special Offers

Summer Offers >>

Summer Offers

Summer is in full bloom at Ballathie - Recently awarded CIS Independent Hotel of the Year - we look forward to celebrating with you.

Autumn Break >>

Autumn Break

Autumn short break - Book early to receive the best rate

Ballathie Mixed Open Golf Break >>

Ballathie Mixed Open Golf Break

Mixed Open residential golf competition in conjunction with Blairgowrie. We have limited the numbers for this unique golfing tournament- so book early

Latest Award - CIS Hotel of the Year >>

Latest Award  - CIS Hotel of the Year

A true Award winning Hotel